Take Action

Take Action

If you want to see DC make a smooth transition to legalizing recreational sales of cannabis, contact City Council and tell them:

  • Introduce yourself and why you are calling (in support of i-71 businesses and that you want to see protections implemented for i-71 employees).
  • Tell them about your positive experiences shopping at i-71 businesses. These are licensed businesses who have helped contribute to the local economy by paying taxes, employing DC residents, and hosting charity events to support their local communities. They have been operating in-waiting for DC to transition to recreational cannabis and they deserve a shot at the first round of licenses available.
  • Focus on the impact. These businesses have allowed people to access cannabis safely, allowed people to participate in the industry who are not able to participate in the medical marijuana industry.
  • This industry is reflective of the fabric of our great city – employing people of color, women, veterans, disabled, and LGBTQ-identifying people. Right now, they do not have job security and it is scary for people to not know whether or not they will have a job during the transition to recreational sales.¬†
DC Council

Thirteen Members make up the Council: a representative elected from each of the eight wards; and five members, including the Chairman, elected at-large.

Chairman Phil Mendelson

pmendelson@dccouncil.us
(202) 724-8032

Chair Pro Tempore Kenyan McDuffie

Ward 5 Council member
kmcduffie@dccouncil.us
(202) 724-8028

Brianne Nadeau

Ward 1
bnadeau@dccouncil.us
(202) 724-8181

Brooke Pinto

Ward 2
bpinto@dccouncil.us
(202) 724-8058

Mary Cheh

Ward 3 mcheh@dccouncil.us
(202)-724-8062

Janeese Lewis George

Ward 4
jlewisgeorge@dccouncil.us
(202) 724-8052

Kenyan R. McDuffie

Ward 5
kmcduffie@dccouncil.us
(202) 724-8028

Charles Allen

Ward 6
callen@dccouncil.us

(202) 724-8072

Vincent Gray

Ward 7
vgray@dccouncil.us
(202) 724-8068

Trayon White, Sr.

Ward 8
twhite@dccouncil.us
(202) 724-8045

At-large members

Anita Bonds

abonds@dccouncil.us
(202) 724-8064

Robert White

rwhite@dccouncil.us
(202) 724-8174

Elissa Silverman

esilverman@dccouncil.us
(202) 724-7772

Christina Henderson

chenderson@dccouncil.us
(202) 724-8105